I am From

What Anita and Shari did looked like fun, so I tried it too.
If it doesn’t make sense to you, here is the template that explains it.
Try it yourself. From the beautiful poem “Where I’m From” by George Ella Lyon.

I am from tin milk pails and homemade mayonnaise, from wet mittens and Sunlight lemon dish soap.

I am from the yellow house with brown trim in Saddle Hills county, from vegetable soup simmering and mud scrubbing.

I am from geraniums in big brown pots and a lilac bush whose long gone limbs I remember as if they were my own.

I’m from arguments around the dinner table and not-so-pat answers,
From sweet Katherine the new bride
And from Kevin who left us too soon.

I’m from strangers at our table and always be at church and reading Time magazine.

I’m from Where do liars go
and Trust someone until they’ve given you reason not to
and Darling Clementine.

I’m from long trips to Pennsylvania.
I’m from Dawson Creek and Switzerland,
sauerkraut and stone ground whole wheat bread.
From the night dad burnt a hole in the blanket
when he carried a lantern to bed so he could read late in his Amish home.
From black and white pictures of pioneers in the snow
kept in a big box in the stairway by the scrabble game.
I am from book-ish Peacheys
and curly-haired Baers.
From brown eyes and sensitive consciences,
From hearty singing and perfectionism,
From homemade smoked bologna and the preaching of The Truth.

*************************************************************

There’s this game going around on facebook that goes like this:

To start this year off in a positive way I’m participating in the Pay-it-Forward initiative… The first five people who comment on this status with “I’m in” will receive a surprise from me at some point in this calendar year- anything from a book, a ticket, a visit, something home-grown or made, a postcard, absolutely any surprise! There will be no warning and it will happen when the mood comes over me and I find something that I believe would suit you and make you happy. (If you think I don’t know you well enough to know your address – which could be an important piece of info considering you’re going to receive something from me – private message me with pertinent info please!)

These five people must make the same offer in their FB status and distribute their own joy. Simply copy this text onto your profile, (don’t share) so we can form a web of connection and kindness.

Let’s do more nice and loving things for each other in 2014, without any reason other than to make each other smile and show that we think of each other.

I’m tweaking this just a bit because I don’t like things that put people under bondage to pass on—like those old chain letters we used to get as girls–and that Victoria still gets. It’s not that I minded sending out the stickers or cards or whatever, but I always stopped short when I found out that I had to bother 12 more friends with the letter. Anyway. All this to say. The first five commenters on this blog post will get something from me in the mail. You need to comment here and not on Facebook. 🙂 Message me your address.

My “I am froms” are from the past and make me who I am today.
But where are you “from” right this minute?
Sick children and weekend aftermath?
Sunshine and snow?

Tell me.

14 thoughts on “I am From

  1. Oh, Luci. I love to read your writing. Just like I loved your Christmas letter. I’m always smiling and wishing I could sit and chat with you over coffee. Today, right now – I’m sore from my workout. It takes me a few steps to straighten out because my muscles are crying. Abbeys basketball practice was canceled tonight, and I’m thankful. My husband works late and on top of my own work, dinner and homework, I’ve got to go to the school for the academic showcase tonight. Happy Monday to you! 🙂

  2. I am from lots and lots of thoughts swirling through my head on what church really SHOULD look like and not what modern day Mennonites have made it. I’m from below zero temps outside with a warm kitchen, full of good smells. I always love your posts, Luci!

  3. Well, I’d have to be honest–right now I think my “I’m from” would be pretty dismal and sad. I’m from right now just having finished bill paying for another week and needing to go put rice in the steamer to cook for supper. I’ll leave it at that. Oh and I’m also from the land that is frozen solid after having been whipped vigorously into pretty snow drifts.

  4. I love your blog. Its so comfortable and homey.

    I am from howling winds and subzero temperatures, from huddling under grandma’s quilt and wearing an extra pair of socks, right this moment.

  5. Hey, I think I am in the first 5!
    Right now I am from the coldest winter I ever remember and also the sickest January I ever remember. I never knew that sickness could drag on and on and on in healthy individuals like this!

  6. Oh ratties. I came as soon as I could…

    🙂

    …and missed it.

    Well. It was fun reading your I am From. Right now I am from a messy living room and kids playing balloon volleyball around the house and pleasant memories of supper just over.

  7. I’m from a thankful heart, for warmth and hot food on this cold day. I’m from bread baking, cookie making and do it yourself. I’m also from the Baers. I am from creating things and not so much from the nitty gritty, dishes, washing.cleaning etc. I am from planting tiny seeds and smelling the dirt. I am from curl up in the corner and read a book. I am also #6. That’s Okay, I loved reading yours and it was fun.

  8. Well I’m too late but I”m commenting anyway. I like the where I’m from list. I want to look at that template. 🙂 I’m from snowballs and freezing cold temps. 🙂

  9. I am From: my quiet little beef and potato dinner with hubby, from a sunny, warm day that has blended into a dark, chilly, Springish evening, from wishing the calcium magnesium supplement wasn’t the size of a small bullet, from hoping my dad will agree that living in a smaller place is pertinent, from feeling out of control because I made myself a mocha today instead of praying through my stress, from knowing I should exercise the calories off, from loving difficult people because well because, from being from Pennsylvania but not missing it right now and from getting ready to wash 2 bowls and 2 forks while I wonder what my kids are doing tonight.

  10. I’ve seen others do the “I am from” poem and I just never tire of hearing them. So beautiful!

    Right now.. I am from high fevers and cold days. Of sick kids and heavy hearts. Of learning to wait and yet not being afraid to move forward.

    Wish I had been one of the first five ;))

    xo

  11. Your poem is beautiful, Luci! I love reading these, and maybe I’ll write my own someday.

    Right now–
    I am from catching up on blogs on my unmade bed and giving extra long recess from school because I wish we could have a relaxing day like Saturdays should be. I’m from settling squabbles and cheering the new jump rope jumping record.

Leave a Reply

