If I had studied psychiatry

“Good morning, ladies and gentlemen! My name is Maggie and I’m 19 years old. I am going to sing for you in German.”
(Then followed a very loud rendition of Awesome God, with breaks to ask me what some of the words were.)
IMG_6714IMG_6713
(Oh dear. I see that these photos show all of you my outdated floral wallpaper border in the stairway.)

Also on the agenda this morning was making a bed with 10 washcloths for Mr. and Mrs. Crayon and their 29 crayon children, who were later moved under a box to keep out of the thunderstorm and safe from Tash and his mean soldiers.

Also this week was the coining of the word “Coose”, which being interpreted is: being kind to those who are mean to you.

Also this week there were many valentines, more valentines than I can count. They are special mystery valentines, talked about in whispers, but they come out often to be caressed and reglued and reglittered.

And all of these things come from one very small person. I didn’t even get started on the piano music and homework questions and flashcards and crafts and building of gymnasiums with foam bedrolls and blankets from the other five. (Oh. And the arguments too.)

Sometimes when I’m wiping toothpaste out of the bathroom sink or sorting 6600 pairs of socks or trying to ration the cookies or picking up bits of craft foam, I think about the could-have-beens of my life.

My initial dreams usually included a degree in education and being a teacher in some inner city school and making a huge difference in the life of some kid with no hope.

I’ve also conjured up some pretty wonderful visions of writing novels by the seaside.

And lately I’ve been so intrigued with stories of people with mental health problems and just know that I could have been a moderately great psychiatrist. (Because I teeter on the brink of something mental-ish a lot myself.)

Or maybe I would have been an Olympic gold medalist. I haven’t decided on which sport yet.

Feeding hungry people has always been at the top of my list. I mean actually DOING it, not just providing the money so it can happen. Can you imagine handing a bowl of steaming rice to someone who hasn’t eaten for days?

While I know that being a stay at home mom is a really noble calling and that contentment is pretty much key to joy in wherever you find yourself, I also think it’s healthy and stretching to dream. At least I hope it is. πŸ™‚

Where does your mind go in your other life?

Liesl insisted on trying to wash the lunch dishes, after which we will read something fun (I hope) and take a little nap on this white, snowy day in Alberta.

If I had studied psychiatry, I’d likely be missing some pretty good stuff about the house and home.

7 thoughts on “If I had studied psychiatry

  1. Oh my word! She is so cute and so creative, too! And I wouldn’t have noticed the floral wallpaper had you not pointed it out!

    1. Also… I don’t know who I would be in a different life. I have some dreams, but when I get closer to the reality of them, I realize that it would be MUCH harder than I thought and I am not sure if I am up to that. I have decided that right now I am supposed to be a wife and mom and when God has something else He wants me to do, He’ll show me/us and give the strength to go with it!

  2. I didn’t notice the wallpaper either… after you said something then I had to click on it and zoom in to look. πŸ™‚

    I think your cutie with braids has a very active mind! Good for her! πŸ™‚

  3. laughing about the wall paper, because I wouldn’t have noticed. but it’s the kind of thing that jumps out at me in my own pics. πŸ™‚ funny how my outdated stuff is too old to be “in” and too young to be coolly vintage.

    your kids are hilarious, like their mother. Jacob told me the other night when I tucked him in bed that I could have been “making big bucks by now,” but he’s glad that I stayed home with him. πŸ™‚

  4. I think those things too, like what if I had gone to college for that degree in English instead of… you name it. I am happy with the path I have chosen, and most times I would flee back to my domestic life (where I am finally starting to feel like I know what I am doing at least some of the time) from my dreams. πŸ™‚ There are seasons in life. My husband says the English degree is out there waiting in another season. πŸ™‚

  5. That child of yours is just a DARLING! And I adore her name! Did I tell you that already? I probably did, but I can’t remember. Do you ever wonder where in the world they pull all this stuff from? I mean seriously, it has to go in before it can come out and sometimes I’m really not sure where the input is coming from because it’s all so funny and creative and mixed up and smart and charming. πŸ™‚

    What would I dream of? I don’t know. Maybe going back to work at the CCU. Maybe not. Maybe starting a restaurant … you know the totally organic / locally grown / allergy friendly kind. Maybe not. Sometimes I still dream of being able to take in teenage girls and letting them live with us when they’re at a place of crisis whether it’s with their families or because they’ve gotten pregnant or for whatever reason. I still think our house in Virginia is set up perfectly for that. David always shakes his head and wonders if I have ANY idea what kind of drama I’m asking for. I’m sure I don’t. I just think maybe there’s a reason God keeps giving me that dream.

  6. i thought we were the only ones that owned 6000 pairs of socks!!! :))
    love you and your humor and your adorable little girly and what i dream of in my other life.. hmm? probably my younger more dream filled self! i’ve been feeling that lately – especially w turning 40- that maybe some of those things i wanted to do all those years ago will never be accomplished. but recognizing too i can dream NEW dreams and to have alteast tried, then not at all!

    writing novels by the seaside sounds pretty near perfect.
    i’ll meet ya there. ;))

    xo

Leave a Reply

