vacation days

cp My favorite Christmas presents came wrapped like this. ^^^^^^^ mr wilson 1 Two sleigh rides in one week.  Feel the frigid air? mr wilson 2 Somehow we look more like Ukrainian refugees than dashers through the snow, laughing all the way. IMG_0624 Sleds tied behind are even more fun than the sleigh itself as o’er the fields we go. sleigh 1 sleigh 3 sleigh 4   girls and dolls 2 These two. ^^^^^^^^^^ They wanted American dolls for Christmas sooooo badly they could almost taste them.  We said no-you’ll have to buy them yourselves when you save enough money.  But then there were these dolls at Target that were a wonderful option for a fourth of the price, so…. Their happiness was complete on Christmas morning.

“Natalia is the hairdresser and I’m the hair decorator, ” said Liesl as she put a green barrette in Kiana’s long blonde hair. girls and dolls On Christmas day the cows came home. cows The two days following Christmas, Dan & Victoria labored hard over a table that looked like this. paperwork Random shot below of fog in the Peace River canyon on the way north to Fort St. John. This photo doesn’t do it justice at all. winter beauty Guess who got a new phone for Christmas?  Now I can text without frustration.  I was surely one of the last people to still use a flip phone.

Thanks to our phone company for their wonderful offers-it’s really much more of a phone than I need. We were due a new phone and since Dan’s is still good, I’m the one who got the upgrade. I hardly know what to do with the sleek little thing because I don’t use a cell phone much at all.

But oh my.  Poor Siri is totally exhausted because she has 4 new people asking her questions and they are relentless. phone The cousins from Fort St. John are here for a few days.  We’re baking monster cookies and throwing darts together.

This is the vacation where we played a LOT of Take One.  Dan and I had a tough, close game tonight.  I won and I’m still smiling.

Yesterday I took my sister’s family dog in to the vet for shots and he threw up all over the car seats on the way home.  I was also accosted by a kind but unswerving JW man in Walmart who sensed that  it was my day to learn ALL about Jehovah’s witnesses’ website since I wasn’t Amish and had technology.

****************************************************

If I would choose a word for 2015, maybe it would be LIFT.

Last Sunday in church we were singing “Lord, lift me up and let me stand, by faith on heaven’s tableland,” and I was thinking about being lifted above darkness and soaring in brighter places with Christ.

I want to lift others too, not tear them down.

Mostly, I just want to lift Jesus high in the coming year.

I’ve spent way too much time in the last year in low places, focusing on my failures. “My heart has no desire to stay where doubts arise and fears dismay.” Happy New Year to all.

~Love, Luci

9 thoughts on “vacation days

  1. I love your word “Lift”!!
    Yes. Let’s lift and encourage each other and lift Jesus higher! “He says, If I be lifted up from the earth, I will draw all men unto me.”

  2. I had to laugh out loud because I didn’t even know how to spell Siri and I could just imagine your children asking “her” questions! I’ve used that sometimes as I have the same IPhone I think, but sometimes she doesn’t understand me so, I don’t use Siri ALL the time. 😁😃 love, Heidi

  3. Happy New Year to you too! My youngest loves asking Siri questions too :)…. Looks like a fun Christmas, we’re still waiting on the white part….
    Hopefully soon!

  4. The cows coming home, that is a great shot!! And love the ones on the sleigh too. I’ve never had a ride like that and can’t quite imagine it in those temperatures you have up there. 🙂

    It sounds like a lovely vacation. Ours was a bit wild with going to IN for 5 days and now having guests tonight and a family dinner tomorrow. I love the long relaxing days like you had.

    I’ve been thinking of a word for 2015 but nothing has struck me yet. I like yours and what you said about it, always have liked that song.

  5. My daughters have ‘Target dolls” too, and they love them. I actually cut out some new doll clothes yesterday with dreams of sewing them today…we’ll see. And I, for the record, still have a flip phone, so you’re not the last one to have it. 🙂

  6. Dear Luci, I have just now been able to read this post! I love your photos, especially the ones of the “Ukrainian refugees”! I love your word for the year! Lift is the one I going to remember. Hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

